Long Term Athlete Development (LTAD)

Along with teamwork, lacrosse teaches participants fundamental movement skills, fundamental sport skills and the ABCs - agility, balance, coordination and speed - of physical literacy. 

Lacrosse’s Long-Term Athlete Development (LTAD) model consists of seven stages.

  • Active Start (M, F 0-6) - Teaches fundamental movement skills and basic rules, and links them together into play.
  • FUNdamentals (M 6-10, F 6-7) - Introduces skills and the ABCs through physical activity.
  • Learn to Train (M 10-12, F 8-10) - Addresses more advanced skills, tactics and mental preparation and introduces competition.
  • Train to Train (M 12-16, F 11-14) - Continues to develop skills and physiological capacities through increased competition, with effort spent on talent identification.
  • Learn & Train to Compete (M 16-23+/-, F 15-21+/-) - Optimizes fitness preparation, further develops skills and tactics, and begins specialization in the sport through year-round physical training.
  • Learn & Train to Win (M, F 17+/-) - Maximizes performance by consolidating and perfecting all skills and capacities, while performing to win.
  • Active for Life (M, F all ages) - Encourages all individuals to remain physically active, either competitively or recreationally, for life.

Lacrosse For Life: Lacrosse LTAD Model
The aim of this model is to specifically promote the development and continued success of Lacrosse in Canada by creating an optimal player development pathway.

RAMP Registration

Join thousands of association partners using RAMP Registration Solutions.

More Information

RAMP Official Assigning

#1 with Officials...for very good reasons.

More Information

RAMP Websites

Manage your identity from the palm of your hand to the top of your desk.

More Information

RAMP Team App

Keep your coaches, parents, athletes, and fans connected, seamlessly.

More Information